President Biden Broadcasts Recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom

By | July 1, 2022
Spread the love

WASHINGTON – In the present day, President Biden named seventeen recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the Nation’s highest civilian honor, introduced to people who’ve made exemplary contributions to the prosperity, values, or safety of the US, world peace, or different important social, public or personal endeavors.

President Biden has lengthy mentioned that America might be outlined by one phrase: potentialities. These seventeen Individuals exhibit the ability of potentialities and embody the soul of the nation – laborious work, perseverance, and religion. They’ve overcome important obstacles to realize spectacular accomplishments within the arts and sciences, devoted their lives to advocating for essentially the most weak amongst us, and acted with bravery to drive change of their communities – and the world over – whereas blazing trails for generations to come back .

The awards will likely be introduced on the White Home on July 7, 2022.

The next people will likely be awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom:

Simone Biles

Simone Biles is essentially the most adorned American gymnast in historical past, with a mixed whole of 32 Olympic and World Championship medals. Biles can also be a outstanding advocate for athletes’ psychological well being and security, kids within the foster care system, and victims of sexual assault.

Sister Simone Campbell

Sister Simone Campbellis a member of the Sisters of Social Service and former Government Director of NETWORK, a Catholic social justice group. She can also be a outstanding advocate for financial justice, immigration reform, and healthcare coverage.

Julieta García

Dr. Julieta García is the previous president of The College of Texas at Brownsville, the place she was named considered one of Time journal’s greatest faculty presidents. Dr. García was the primary Hispanic girl to function a school president and devoted her profession to serving college students from the Southwest Border area.

Gabrielle Giffords

Former Congresswoman Gabby Gifford was the youngest girl ever elected to the Arizona State Senate, serving first within the legislature within the US Congress. A survivor of gun violence, she co-founded Giffords, a nonprofit group devoted to gun violence prevention.

Fred Grey

Fred Grey was one of many first black members of the Alabama State legislature since Reconstruction. As an legal professional, he represented Rosa Parks, the NAACP, and Martin Luther King, who known as him “the chief counsel for the protest motion.”

Steve Jobs (posthumous)

Steve Jobs (d. 2011) was the co-founder, chief govt, and chair of Apple, Inc., CEO of Pixar and held a number one function on the Walt Disney Firm. His imaginative and prescient, creativeness and creativity led to innovations which have, and proceed to, change the way in which the world communicates, in addition to reworking the pc, music, movie and wi-fi industries.

Father Alexander Karloutsos

Father Alexander Karloutsos is the previous Vicar Common of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America. After over 50 years as a priest, offering counsel to a number of US presidents, he was named by His All Holiness Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew as a Protopresbyter of the Ecumenical Patriarchate.

Khizr Khan

Khizr Khanis a Gold Star father and founding father of the Structure Literacy and Nationwide Unity Middle. He’s a outstanding advocate for the rule of legislation and non secular freedom and served on the US Fee on Worldwide Spiritual Freedom underneath President Biden.

Sandra Lindsay

Sandra Lindsayis a New York vital care nurse who served on the entrance strains of the COVID-19 pandemic response. She was the primary American to obtain a COVID-19 vaccine exterior of medical trials and is a outstanding advocate for vaccines and psychological well being for well being care staff.

John McCain (posthumous)

John McCain (d. 2018) was a public servant who was awarded a Purple Coronary heart with one gold star for his service within the US Navy in Vietnam. He additionally served the individuals of Arizona for many years within the US Home of Representatives and US Senate and was the Republican nominee for president in 2008.

Diane Nash

Diane Nash is a founding member of the Scholar Nonviolent Coordinating Committee who organized among the most essential civil rights campaigns of the 20th century. Nash labored intently with Martin Luther King, who described her because the “driving spirit within the nonviolent assault on segregation at lunch counters.”

Megan Rapinoe

Megan Rapinoeis an Olympic gold medalist and two-time Girls’s World Cup champion. She additionally captains OL Reign within the Nationwide Girls’s Soccer League. She is a outstanding advocate for gender pay equality, racial justice, and LGBTQI+ rights.

Alan Simpson

Alan Simpson served as a US Senator from Wyoming for 18 years. Throughout his public service, he has been a outstanding advocate on points together with marketing campaign finance reform, accountable governance, and marriage equality.

Richard Trumka (posthumous)

Richard Trumka (d. 2021) was president of the 12.5-million-member AFL-CIO for greater than a decade, president of the United Mine Staff, and secretary-treasurer of the AFL-CIO. All through his profession, he was an outspoken advocate for social and financial justice.

Wilma Vaught

Brigadier Common Wilma Vaughtis some of the adorned ladies within the historical past of the US army, repeatedly breaking gender boundaries as she rose by way of the ranks. When she retired in 1985, she was considered one of solely seven ladies generals within the Armed Forces.

Denzel Washington

Denzel Washington is an actor, director, and producer who has gained two Academy Awards, a Tony Award, two Golden Globes, and the 2016 Cecil B. DeMille Lifetime Achievement Award. He has additionally served as Nationwide Spokesman for the Boys & Women Golf equipment of America for over 25 years.

Raúl Yzaguirre

Raúl Yzaguirre is a civil rights advocate who served as CEO and president of the Nationwide Council of La Raza for thirty years. He additionally served as US Ambassador to the Dominican Republic underneath President Barack Obama.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.